Ontario Railway Stations
The first station was built around 1868 by the Great Western Railway. In 1882 the Great Western was swallowed up by the GTR (later CN) which continued to use the station until 1903. in 1903, as part of a general upgrading plan, the GTR replaced the dowdy old station with a with a stunning Queen Anne structure that belied the town's importance. The station was only used for 24 years.
In 1927 (some sources say 1930) CN abandoned the line and the station was closed. In 1937 it reopened as the Petrolia Library, a function it continues to serve to this day.
The Canada Southern Railway (later Michigan Central) arrived in Petrolia around 1878. The station pictured here was likely built in the early 1900s. The line was abandoned in 1960. The station was removed in the 1970s and cut into three parts. Two of the parts were relocated to Bright's Grove and rebuilt as cottages. Many of the original details have been retained.